2016 Coastal Carolina Chanticleers Baseball National Championship Ring

Product Code:ncaabb2016
Availability:In Stock
  • $185.00

Available Options

The 2016 Coastal Carolina Chanticleers baseball team represents Coastal Carolina University in the 2016 NCAA Division I baseball season. The Chanticleers played their home games at Springs Brooks Stadium, on campus in Conway, South Carolina. Gary Gilmore was in his 21st season as the Chanticleers' coach. They won the 2016 College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska over Arizona.

The 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament began on Friday, June 3, 2016, as part of the 2016 NCAA Division I baseball season. The 64 team double elimination tournament concluded with the 2016 College World Series (CWS) in Omaha, Nebraska, starting on June 18, 2016, and ending on June 30, 2016.[1] The 64 participating NCAA Division I college baseball teams were selected out of an eligible 298 teams. Thirty-one teams were awarded an automatic bid as champions of their conferences, and 33 teams were selected at-large by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Teams were divided into sixteen regionals of four teams, which conducted a double-elimination tournament. Regional champions faced each other in Super Regionals, a best of three game series to determine the eight participants of the College World Series. The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) set a conference record and tied the all-time mark of having ten teams in the championship field. A tournament-high seven regional hosts came from the Southeastern Conference (SEC), followed by six of the ten ACC schools; however, only Miami (ACC) and Florida (SEC) advanced to Omaha, and they were the first and second teams eliminated, respectively. For the first time since the tournament expanded from 48 teams in 1999, the NCAA did not select any Pac-12 schools to host a regional, and Lubbock, Texas (Texas Tech) was the westernmost regional host city picked by the selection committee.

In the CWS after Texas Tech lost to Big 12 rival TCU, none of the three national seeds who had reached Omaha had won their opening game. Tech eventually became the fourth team to be eliminated. While Oklahoma State and TCU advanced through the winners' bracket to set up a possible all Big 12 championship, Arizona and Coastal Carolina won both elimination games to advance to the best-of-three game final.

With each teaming winning a game in the championship series to force a winner take all Game 3, the tournament reached the maximum of 17 games for the first time since 2003 when the finals expanded to best-of-three format (as opposed to a single winner take all championship game). Coastal Carolina won the deciding game 4-3, becoming the first team since 1956 to win the title in its first CWS appearance. Coastal Carolina won six elimination games in NCAA post season play, one in a Regional, three in the CWS double elimination bracket, and two in the Championship Series. The runner up, Arizona, won six elimination games, three in a Regional and three in the CWS double elimination bracket, but lost their 7th, the last game of the Championship Series.

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Tags: ncaa Baseball Championship Ring